Spotlight: Asian books releasing in second half of 2021

Today I bring to you the Asian releases in second half of 2021! I’ve literally made it my life goal to always boost Asian books and bring more diverse books to your TBR. 2021 is keeping us fed with this fabulous line up and I can’t wait for people (and myself!) to read these! And, if you’re aware of any Asian releases not mentioned below, please let me know and I will add it to the list!

Table of Contents:

july

πŸ“š Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim, July 6th

β€” Chinese inspired world and characters
β€” reads like a fairytale with dragons, magic, cranes, curses and of course a beautiful asian girl on the cover.

πŸ“š If You, Then Me by Yvonne Woon, July 6th

β€” Asian-American MC
β€” supposedly this is a must read for computer science and YA contemporary lovers so yes I’m excited!!

πŸ“š Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom by Sangu Mandanna, July 6th

β€” Indian inspired world and Indian MC
β€” an adventurous middle grade fantasy that explores Indian myths with a MC who has anxiety, sign me up!

πŸ“š Would I Lie To You? by Aliya Ali-Afzal, July 8th

β€” Muslim MC
β€” a book about a Pakistani Muslim woman in an interracial marriage, struggling with money and identity

πŸ“š XOXO by Axie Oh, July 13th

β€” Korean characters, set in Seoul
β€” k-pop fans rise! we’ve got a heartwarming contemporary romance book heading our way.

πŸ“š Radha & Jai’s Recipe for Romance by Nisha Sharma, July 13th

β€” Indian MCs
β€” you know a book is going to be delicious when it has a title like that!

πŸ“š She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan, July 20th

β€” Chinese and Mongolian cast and setting
β€” I already know this is going to destroy me but we’re really getting a chinese historical sapphic fantasy comped to Mulan????

πŸ“š The Lady or the Lion by Aamna Qureshi, July 20th

β€” Pakistani setting and characters
β€” this is THE Pakistan inspired fantasy with politics and forbidden romance that reads like a fairytale

πŸ“š Afterlove by Tanya Byrne, July 22nd

β€” Indo-Guyanese characters
β€” “the lesbian love story you’ve been dying to read” no other explanation required!!

august

πŸ“š Brown Boy Nowhere by Sheeryl Lim, August 1st

β€” Filipino-American MC
β€” ownvoices story that follows the MC on his journey through friendship, love, and acclimating to a new home

πŸ“š The Wild Ones by Nafiza Azad, August 3rd

β€” South-Asian characters
β€” I’m a sucker for this book just because of that glorious cover and ready to read a feminist fantasy with a magical girl group saving a boy

πŸ“š Clark and Division by Naomi Hirahara, August 3rd

β€” Japanese-American MC
β€” this book shed light on the internment of Japanese-American families during WWII, I do love a good historical mystery

πŸ“š How We Fall Apart by Katie Zhao, August 17th

β€” Asian-American cast
β€” dark academia thriller with a cast like that… yeah this is IT

πŸ“š House of Glass Hearts by Leila Siddiqui, August 29th

β€”Pakistani-American MC
β€” the narrative switches between colonial India and present day America as a teen searches for her sibling, doesn’t this sound like perfection

πŸ“š In the Watchful City by S. Qiouyi Lu, August 31st

β€” Asian inspired setting
β€” novella with a non-binary MC and stories within stories, I’m hype!

πŸ“š The Heart Principle by Helen Hoang, August 31st

β€” Vietnamese, Chinese characters
β€” finally!! getting Quan’s book and it also has OCD rep, give it all to me

πŸ“š The Boy With Fire by Aparna Verma, August 31st

β€” Indian mythology influenced setting
β€” a world inspired by hindu myth teetering on the edge of a war and people who push it over, I’m totally calm

september

πŸ“š A Clash Of Steel by C.B. Lee, September 7th

β€” Chinese inspired world and characters
β€” historical fiction treasure island retelling with pirates and sapphics; yes this is all I need to know

πŸ“š The Shaadi Set-Up by Lillie Vale, September 7th

β€” Indian-American MCs
β€” in which a woman signs herself and her boyfriend up on a matchmaking site but gets paired with her ex, incoherent screaming!!

πŸ“š The Jasmine Project by Meredith Ireland, September 7th

β€” Korean-American MC
β€” an adoptee whose own family sets up a dating plan for her, sounds too cute

πŸ“š The All Consuming World by Cassandra Khaw, September 7th

β€” East Asian characters
β€” queer women who get together for one last mission, basically a heist in space, hell yes

πŸ“š Pahua and the Soul Stealer by Lori M. Lee, September 7th

β€” Inspired by Southeast Asian mythology
β€” a middle-grade novel where a Hmong girl discovers she’s a powerful shaman warrior, sounds fabulous

πŸ“š It All Comes Back To You by Farah Naz Rishi, September 14th

β€” Muslim-American MCs
β€” everyone say thank you Farah for giving us this swoon-worthy, banter filled, exes forcibly reunited rom-com that will make up my entire personality!!

πŸ“š Not Here To Be Liked by Michelle Quach, September 14th

β€” Chinese-Vietnamese-American MC
β€” this book looks too good to be true from the cover itself and the blurb only amplifies the feeling

πŸ“š Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao, September 21st

β€” Chinese-coded cast & setting
β€” combining chinese mythology, smashing the patriarchy and polyamorous relationship and you expect me to stay calm??

πŸ“š Last Gamer Standing by Katie Zhao, September 21st

β€” Chinese-American MC
β€” katie said this book is basically “sports anime meets sci-fi and gaming culture”, wonderful!!

πŸ“š The Bronzed Beasts by Roshani Chokshi, September 21st

β€” South-Indian MC, half Filipino MC
β€” after that cliffhanger ending in the silvered serpents, who is not waiting for this?

πŸ“š The Samosa Rebellion by Shanthi Sekaran, September 21st

β€” Indian MC
β€” you can’t give me a title like this and expect me to not shake with excitement

πŸ“š First Love, Take Two by Sajni Patel, September 21st

β€” Indian MC
β€” the cover is absolutely gorgeous, exes-to-roommates-to-?? romance I simply can’t wait!

πŸ“š Steelstriker by Marie Lu, September 28th

β€” Asian character
β€” action filled and suspenseful conclusion to Skyhunter dulogy!!

πŸ“š Light From Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki, September 28th

β€” Asian-American characters
β€” I remember reading the blurb some months ago and *clenches fist* it’s so perfect

october

πŸ“š When Night Breaks by Janella Angeles, October 5th

β€” Filipino MC
β€” a sparkling sequel that will give us glamour, Hadestown vibes and much needed answers

πŸ“š Love, Chai and Other Four-Letter Words by Annika Sharma, October 5th

β€” Indian MC
β€” there’s a special place in my heart for desi romances and I can’t wait to devour this!

πŸ“š Once More Upon A Time by Roshani Chokshi, October 5th

β€” half Indian author
β€” roshani chokshi giving us a fantasy romance that has fairytale vibes about second chance at love

πŸ“š Jade Fire Gold by June CL Tan, October 12th

β€” Chinese mythology inspired world and characters
β€” “dark katara teaming up with zuko”, say no more! but also the premise sounds so intriguing and action packed

πŸ“š The Keeper Of Night by Kylie Lee Baker, October 12th

β€” half Japanese MC, Japanese setting
β€” dark, creepy historical fantasy set in 1890s Japan and sibling relationships, hello??

πŸ“š The Other Man by Farhad J. Dadyburjor, September 12th

β€” Indian MC
β€” urban gay rom-com set set in Mumbai *incoherent screaming*

πŸ“š Barakah Beats by Maleeha Siddiqui, October 19th

β€” Muslim MC
β€” “about a Muslim girl who joins a boy band in an effort to find her place at a new school” okay yes count me in

πŸ“š Nothing But Blackened Teeth by Cassandra Khaw, October 19th

β€” inspired by Japanese folklore
β€” if that cover hadn’t spooked me already, the concept of a haunted Japanese manor rented out by five friends as a wedding venue sure did.

november + december

πŸ“š Tahira In Bloom by Farah Heron, November 1st

β€” Muslim MC
β€” will I ever not swoon over brown girls on covers? anyway this has flowers, coming of age rom-com and a south-asian muslim heroine and I’m sold!

πŸ“š You’ve Reached Sam by Dustin Thao, November 2nd

β€” ownvoices Asian cast
β€” readers are going to get their hearts broken with a cover and synopsis like that, bring it on.

πŸ“š Girls of Fate and Fury by Natasha Ngan, November 2nd

β€” ownvoices Chinese and Malaysian inspired world and cast
β€” a stunning finale for a stunning series (that I’m yet to read :])

πŸ“š Sway With Me by Syed M. Masood, November 2nd

β€” Muslim characters
β€” quirky rom-com with Muslim rep is literally all I need to know

πŸ“š The Donut Trap by Julie Tieu, November 2nd

β€” Southeast Asian MC, Chinese love interest, Vietnamese side character
β€” cute, emotional ownvoices rom-com paired with donuts and reuniting with an old crush!!

πŸ“š The Bone Shard Emperor by Andrea Stewart, November 11th

β€” East Asian-coded world and characters
β€” a can’t wait sequel in which readers can’t wait to see how the story and characters develop!

πŸ“š Our Violent Ends by Chloe Gong, November 16th

β€”Chinese MC, Russian MC, Korean queer SC
β€” do I even need to say anything about this because I’m sure all of us are eager to see how violently it ends!!

πŸ“š The Singles Table by Sara Desai, November 16th

β€” Indian-American MC
β€” I will take all opposites attract rom-coms featuring desi weddings, thank you

πŸ“š Tidesong by Wendy Xu, November 16th

β€” East Asian characters
β€” apparently this graphic novel is perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli so you don’t have to say anything more

πŸ“š Jade Legacy by Fonda Lee, December 2nd

β€” Chinese-inspired characters and world
β€” another most awaited conclusion, to The Green Bone Saga series, that has readers on the edge of their seats.

45 thoughts on “Spotlight: Asian books releasing in second half of 2021”

  1. omg gauri thaank you sm for this list!! some of these were on my tbr already but I didn’t even know most? and is it just me or does the samosa rebellion look delicious?! tahira in blooming and the wild ones have GORGEOUS covers πŸ₯Ί loved reading, as always ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you so much!! glad to have brought these gems to your radar ❀ the covers for most of them are my favourite!!!

      Like

  2. Thanks so much for this list!! I’m definitely going to have to add a few of these! I’m so excited for Six Crimson Cranes, Steelstriker, The Bronzed Beasts, Iron Widow and Not Here to be Liked!! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been looking forward to so many of these I cant waitttt (and I added the rest to my TBR automatically) (the synopsis for You’ve Reached Sam caused me so much pain, I don’t think I’ll survive the book tbh)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve heard of quite a few of these, but there are also ones I haven’t heard of so thank you so much!! I also appreciate you adding books from other parts of Asia too! I personally can’t wait for Not here to be liked, and It All comes back to you. And ofc, the lady or the lion hehe. Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s